There’s a common misconception about Gaelic I’m going to settle once and for all, here on my blog.

The Republic of Ireland has two official languages, English and Irish.
The Irish language is a Gaelic language, sometimes called Irish Gaelic,
and is called “Gaeilge” or “Gaolainn” in itself. The ancestor of the
modern Irish language, Middle Irish, spread to Scotland centuries ago
and splintered into two languages. Gaelic by itself refers to the
language now spoken in Scotland, also know as Scottish Gaelic or
“Gàidhlig” in itself, but Gaelic alone is not a word for the Irish

The English language as spoken by the Irish is called
Irish English or Hiberno-English, but this should not be called just